Who colonized French Equatorial Africa?

The French African empire covered an area estimated at 1.4-2.5 million square kilometers (approximately 0.55-0.96 million square miles ). Most of the territory was on the equator that formed the French Congo (Nile and Ladozi) in Central Africa with the city of Congo.

How many colonies did Britain have?

The 13 British colonies that existed in 1780 are usually divided into three groups: large, middle-sized, and small (see the table below). The colonies were: Virginia, Delaware, New York, Massachusetts; New Jersey, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania; Maryland, Delaware; and North Carolina.

Who was Gabon colonized by?

The Gabonese people are the native inhabitants of Gabon, also known as the “Wahhabis,” French Congo, and the Democratic Republic of Congo. While many of the inhabitants of the African continent are Christian, the vast majority of Gabonese remain animist.

How many countries did Britain colonize?

Britain was the most powerful colony in the world. At its peak, Britain held a whopping 12.4 million square miles in Europe and the Middle East. These included the modern-day states of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Benin, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Djibouti, Egypt, India, Pakistan, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritania, Mozambique, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Rwanda, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, the United Kingdom and Zimbabwe.

How many countries are Africa?


How many countries in Africa speak Spanish?

11 languages spoken in Africa

What countries speak French?

Today French is spoken in 53 different territories around the globe, including Algeria, Switzerland, Hong Kong and Suriname. In Asia, France has officially recognized 26 foreign languages, including Arabic, French, Chinese and Japanese, as official foreign languages.

How many countries did the French colonize?

The colonization period (1762 to 1785) included two major stages – first a French military domination over the Americas and first in mainland Europe, the second conquest of Algeria and Syria. The last years of the colonial period were dominated by conflict between the colonies and France over the issue of freedom.

Similarly, which countries in Africa were colonized by France?


What physical feature dominates equatorial Africa?

Most equatorial Africa is a flat plateau, in contrast with the coastal regions, which often have sharp mountains and steep slopes. In central Africa the plateau contains most of the country’s large rivers – the Volta/Chari and Niger in Central Africa, the Congo in East and West, and the Nile in the Nile basin in the northeast.

How long were the French in Indochina?

Indochina is French colonialism in Southeast Asia which lasted from 1858 to 1954 in the form of a protectorate until the Second World War, when it was occupied by the Vichy France and later the Free French under the American-British occupation of Southeast Asia. It ended with the final surrender of Japan – 1945

Similarly, you may ask, which modern countries made up the colony of French Equatorial Africa?

What country originally occupied part of French Equatorial Africa? the French colony of the French Congo

What countries are located in equatorial Africa?

The countries located in equatorial Africa (tropical) are Cameroon, Gabon, Congo (Zaire), Equatorial Guinea, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Burundi, Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Eritrea and Yemen.

How many European countries had colonies in Africa in 1960?

Countries with African colonies _______. France, Britain, Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Portugal, Italy, Spain, Denmark, South Africa, Rhodesia, Nigeria, Ghana, Togo, Uganda, Kenya, Cameroon, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Liberia Sierra Leone: Liberia, Sierra Leone.

Does France still have colonies?

In June 2004, France finally agreed to relinquish its “French colonies” in the world and the territories of the colonies were gradually transferred to other countries: New Caledonia in 1988 (initiated by the France-Netherlands-New Zealand TAC-Pacific treaty), Polynesia (except French Polynesia and French Guyana) in the Pacific Ocean (initiated by the TAC-Pacific treaty, as were the Pacific territories of Metropolitan France, the Far East and West Africa), and finally French Southern and Antarctic Territories in 2018 (initiated by the French-British-New Zealand-Australian TAC-Pacific treaty).

Also asked, when was French Equatorial Africa colonized?

The Congo is an entire country with its capital in Kinshasa (Kinshasa, DR Congo). Parts of French Equatorial Africa were colonized by various European powers from the 1850s onward.

Does France still have colonies in Africa?

France still has three overseas territories: French Guiana and Saint Martin in the Caribbean and the overseas department Mayotte in southwestern France. In the 1960s and 1970s, the overseas departments were gradually given more autonomy so they have more independence from Paris and more control over their own affairs.

What is equatorial Africa?

Equatorial Africa is Africa, which is located between longitude 0° and longitude 90° west. It is bordered to the south by the Atlantic Ocean, the tropic of Capricorn, and the Indian Ocean, to the west, and to the north by the Atlantic Ocean, Africa’s Atlantic coast, the Congo River and the Zambesi River. Equatorial Africa is divided into two regions: the east, home to Lake Chad and other wetlands and savannas, e.g. the Sahel and savannahs, and the west with plains and deserts, e.g. the Kalahari, Namib and Savanes.

When did France colonize West Africa?

Between 1890 and 1914 France occupied a dozen colonies in Africa and took control of the Ivory Coast and its economic and political influence in the heart of Africa. France used its colonies as a way to expand its empire.

What is French Somaliland called today?

Djibouti is the name of the territory in western Africa which borders the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden. Today this country is part of independent Djibouti. The former French Somaliland (French colonies) that were part of present-day Djibouti. The country is named French Somaliland until 1951, when it was renamed after its present-day leader Mohamed Siad Barre.

Where is the Zaire basin located?


In which part of Africa were most of France colonies?

In French Congo

Similar Posts